One Love

Posted by Chantel Escoffery on


Is there one definition? Is there one way to show it? Is there one way to feel it? Love can be hard to describe, but it’s a powerful emotion that brightens the world.


Valentine’s Day

February 14th is an annual celebration of love. It is filled with chocolate, candy, cards, and gifts. 

heart balloon and flowers

The Five Love languages

In 1992 Gary Chapman, an American marriage counsellor and pastor, first introduced the concept of love languages in his book "The Five Love Languages: How to Express Heartfelt Commitment to Your Mate."


Each person has a primary and possibly a secondary love language that speaks to them most.  Understanding your love language and speaking to your partner’s and loved one’s love language can greatly improve your relationship.  Over time, love languages can change, so it’s important to talk and pick up on you and your partners cues when showing love. Communication is key, miscommunication and hurt feelings can be an unintentional outcome when expressing love that is not in the preferred language.  


The five love languages are: Words of Affirmation, Acts of Service, Receiving Gifts, Quality Time, Physical Touch.


Okay, so what are the 5 love languages?

1.     Acts of Service

Imagine waking up early for work and remembering your gas tank is on E. Then you go into your car and realize your sister filled it! People with this love language value when others go out of their way to make their lives easier. Typically, people with this love language believe actions speak louder than words.

2.     Physical Touch

People with this love language like to be physically close to their loved ones, feeling warmth and comfort.    When watching movies, the characters who fall in love often show each other physical affection. Whether it’s a comforting hug, or a dramatic kiss right before the movie credits.

3.     Gifts

Don’t you love it when you give someone a gift and they gasp! People with this love language enjoy being given something physical and meaningful. The price tag doesn’t necessarily matter, but the thought behind it is why they feel appreciated. Customized gifts are always thoughtful and a great way to show your love. Hmm .. where can you find customized gifts? We have a gift shop full of customized items!


4.     Quality Time

People can be busy, but they always make time for what matters. This is how people with the love language quality time see it. They feel valued and loved when others spend time with them. Sounds simple, right? Well, here’s the tricky part in a world where our attention spans are so short … they want your undivided attention with no distractions! This time is dedicated just for you and them. ~ put down those phones


5.     Words of Affirmation

Hearing words of admiration or acknowledgement is what people with this love language desire. They need to hear you say it, or they won’t believe it. If you love them you need to say “I love you,” if you appreciate them you need to tell them you do, or if they got a new haircut you need to express your thoughts on the cut. Verbal or written forms of communication are gold for them.


We would love to help you with all your gifts, to show your love and appreciation. Through customizing key words on a special item, imprinting a photo from a special moment, adding customized fun elements to a date night or afternoon excursion  or just providing a warm sweater or fluffy blanket to stimulate warmth/love. WE WANT TO HELP show love.


So what is your love language and what would be your ideal Valentines gift?

take the quiz:


Other February Celebrations:

  • Black History Month

As a black-owned business, Black History Month is close to home. It is a month dedicated to celebrate the contributions the black community has made and continues to make in society. Black History is everyone’s history and should be acknowledged year round. We take pride in our past, present, and future. Take a look at our Black History Collection


“History has shown us that courage can be contagious, and hope can take on a life of its own” - Michelle Obama


  • Family Day - February 20

In a few Canadian provinces, Family Day was introduced to give individuals time to bond with their loved ones.


By Jola Harrison




  • My love language is acts of service & time!

    Jola on

  • Quality Time – a fun outing with good food.

    Chantel on

Leave a comment

Please note, comments must be approved before they are published